Small World Afterall

There is a small lake in the center of Bergen very near to the concert hall where I took my audition.  On the day of my audition I noticed a large, unattractive metal contraption in the middle of the lake. I couldn’t figure out what it could possible be other than some sort of maintenance device.   The ugliness of the device seemed very out of place in an otherwise attractive part of town. 

Cut to Saturday, back in Buffalo.

On Saturday night I noticed that someone had found my site by searching for "Bergen, Norway" on a blog search engine.    I became curious about what that search would unearth other than me, so I proceeded to run the same search- which lead me to a blog called Visual Norway.   Basically, as I am prone to do, I was wandering around aimlessly on the Internet.  Imagine my amusement when I saw this picture:

Fontenereparasjon_1It’s the Ugly Thing!  In the pretty lake!  Apparently, I am not the only person who found the metal thing noteworthy.  Visual Norway is the photography blog of a Norwegian man named Rune Eide.  I wrote a brief comment on his blog saying that I had been in Bergen recently, and I had noticed the "thing" and had wondered about it myself.   I had a little inward chuckle.  I think it is funny that an insignificant mystery from my trip to Norway would reappear after my return home.   

Well it gets better, because when  woke up the next morning I had an email from Rune in my inbox.  He thanked me for the comment and sent along a picture of what the metal contraption looks like now, a few weeks later:

Fountain

It’s a beautiful fountain! 

If you want to see more of Rune Eide’s lovely photography (both of these photos are his), please visit Visual Norway

I think it’s great that two completely unconnected people, on opposite sides of the world had a little interaction because of our blogs.   The Internet has made the world such a small place. A hearty Tusen Takk (thank you) to Rune for clearing up the mystery of the Ugly Thing.

The Internet is fun!

4 Responses to “Small World Afterall”


  1. 1 Rune May 16, 2006 at 3:47 am

    Hi Kate!
    Tusen takk (thank you) for those very nice words! Always a pleasure to be of assistance. I’ll have you in mind when I walk around Bergen with my cameras and I’ll visit your Blog from time to time. Better luck with your next audition!
    Regards,
    Rune

  2. 2 la loca de nuevo May 16, 2006 at 11:53 am

    So chiquita, this is it– the amazing Bergen. It’s really hard to believe that it didn’t happen… well, it did happen, right? —Your trip, that is, but the audition was a scam… You know that something other than the base economy was fishy that day, no?. Where are you off to next?

    Please do tell us.

  3. 3 Kate May 16, 2006 at 5:51 pm

    Rune-
    It was a pleasure “meeting” you! Yes, please keep us informed about beautiful Bergen.

    Persona Loca-
    I hear there is a good orchestra on Mars. Travelocity.com is running a sale on all interplanetary travel between now and October. I think I might go for it!

    ;)

    Kate


Leave a Reply

