ilove

I packed two things on my trip to Norway that enhanced the quality of my trip so much that I now feel compelled to sing their praises.

Img_1438_1If you do not own a pair of black Danskos, you need to run (not walk) to your nearest hippie shoe distributor.  I took a big chance and packed only one pair of shoes for Norway.  I wore these shoes to my audition, I walked all over Bergen in them, and they were perfectly comfortable on my long walk up a mountain.  Black Danskos are the perfect shoe, and I love them.  I have known for quite some time that my days of tippy high heel boots were behind me, but now I know that I will never again waver from clunky, matronly, absurdly practical, and oddly sexy…..clogs.

Img_1445_1

Where Danskos are practical, the ipod is the ultimate in unnecessary, yet life changing, technology.  Traveling alone can be painfully lonely.  There were many times when I felt awkward and fidgety.  Having a little device in my pocket filled with every song I have ever owned, was the easiest and surest way to help me to relax and enjoy the moment.   Self consciousness about being alone sometimes made it difficult to enjoy what I was doing- but I discovered that when I am listening to my favorite song, I never really feel alone.  Having a personalized soundtrack playing in my mind allows me to step away from myself and my fretful worries.  While wearing my ipod, instead of feeling lonely, I would start to feel like I was in a movie about a feisty gal tromping her way around Norway looking for adventure.  And honestly, that is a pretty good movie.

3 Responses to “ilove”


  1. 1 Ashey May 7, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    Oh to get ahold of your ipod will be a fun music filled day for me and my ibook, i call tell already it will be a great relationship.
    itunes, ibooks, and ipods truly are one of God’s Greatest Gifts on this Great Green Earth.

  2. 2 Courtney May 7, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Danskos are the best. I love my black (and my brown, my maryjane style, and sandal) Danskos more and more with every passing day. I also love the fact that many of the ladies in my orchestra are now wearing their black Danskos on stage as though they are dress shoes. There’s always some stinky pretty princess who insists on wearing stillettos and fishnets (I kid you not, this person exists – a violinist, of course), but when everyone else is in Danskos, she is the one who looks weird, not the clunky Dansko wearers.

  3. 3 Dan May 8, 2006 at 11:55 am

    perhaps it is time to comment on Ipod day in the blog


Leave a Reply

