Bandwagon

For the last few days I have been meaning to sit down and write some sort of final post about Norway.  I have been looking for the words to express how much I loved Bergen, and how much the trip meant to me- but the words are not coming.  Frankly, I think I am still too overwhelmed to sum up the the experience.

So enough about Norway for a little while.

Let’s talk about hockey.

Connollyafinogenovcp060505_1Hockey?  Who knew I loved hockey?- certainly not me.

I decided that today was the day to jump on the bandwagon just in case the Buffalo Sabres make it to the Stanley Cup.  After a brief lesson in the basic rules of the game, I sat down and watched my very first hockey game.  It was SO FUN!  The Sabres won in overtime.  Woohooo! 

When I lived in Philly, my friend John was fond of saying "What this town needs, is a championship parade."  With all due respect to Philadelphia and their collective sports pain, I have to say that, no, what this town needs, is a championship parade. 

And more to the point, what I need is a reason to jump up and down cheering for my home town. 

All of Buffalo is buzzing with happiness right now.  People are driving up my street, honking their car horns and shouting "Go Sabres!" out the window.   On my bike ride home I had a little thrill of civic pride- there is nothing more comforting than an entire town in a good mood.

Awwwwww.  Buffalo, you can be such a sweetie.

1 Response to “Bandwagon”


  1. 1 Courtney May 5, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    You go on and wave that homer hanky! Only maybe it should be a hat trick hanky…


Leave a Reply

